Please or Register to create posts and topics.

Inner Search

Museum Link: https://app.museumofcryptoart.com/collection/the-permanent-collection?collection=0x2a46f2ffd99e19a89476e2f62270e0a35bbf0756&token=38186&page=4

Source Link: https://makersplace.com/0xd9FF1Fbd68e910392dc404F8df0FCD23a64921c3/inner-search-1-of-1-41525/

Date Minted:  December 16, 2020

Artist Description: The inner search is not on the web history. Maybe our existence is based on our ‘online’ data nowadays, but no one can know better than ourselves, all the journey we do inside. Video / Motion Design. Gif format.

CohentheWriter’s Commentary:

A. L. Crego walks comfortably in the midpoint between the stillness of the picture and the continuous but condemned to an end frames of the film. This self-taught digital artisan, utilizes impressive loops to directly represent his very own mental images in gif format generating an hypnotic visual mantra.” This is how Crego describes himself in his bio on MakersPlace, with his collection of works on that platform certainly backing up his boasts. Often utilizing the gif format to nuclear fusion effect —creating an endless artwork without clear beginning or end; self-perpetuating is perhaps a better descriptor— many of Crego’s artworks seem to be rebelling against the fact that they are captured within the frame, set on an infinite loop, trapped. Inner Search is perhaps the most harrowing example of such a phenomenon within Crego’s works, but it nevertheless demonstrates the same keen eye for color contrast, evocative framing, and perpetuity that makes the artist’s entire oeuvre inimitable. Inner Search is, however, a bit darker, more frightening, and, dare I even say, hopeless than much of the artist’s work. Crego often creates with a kind of whimsy, something that’s quite obvious in the work he does with colors, or in his series of pieces that place and animate murals on the sides of nondescript buildings. Inner Search is entirely without whimsy. To someo