Please or Register to create posts and topics.

00061319 : TROPHY II/IX

Museum Link: https://app.museumofcryptoart.com/collection/the-permanent-collection?collection=0x41a322b28d0ff354040e2cbc676f0320d8c8850d&token=2627&page=1

Source Link: https://superrare.com/artwork/00061319-:-trophy-ii-ix-2627

Date Minted: March 29, 2019

Artist Description: You are young, like a baby, inexperienced, but also, hard to grasp. I have the feeling that every time I get my grip om you, you just slide into a new shape. He said. I answered. I am Iona and I will be what I want.

CohentheWriter’s Commentary:

“The trophy series was made in 2007. I did these because I was approached by lots of galleries at the time that wanted to show my digital animal prints. I was a student and got overwhelmed with the attention so I made these works that depicts a hunter with a dead animal. The hunter has been drawn as the same animal as it has shot.” This is how Jonas Kasper Jensen describes his 11-piece series “Trophy,” though this seemingly-vital information isn’t obvious, nor included with each piece; it’s buried away in the Artist Description for the 4th piece in Jensen’s Superrare catalogue, seeming not as much a declaration of intent as something he’d forgotten to mention before. That Jensen views this underlying throughline as something to be included, you know, at some point, is rather interesting. One might expect an artist to centralize such information, attaching it to every piece in the collection, ensuring that no observer is led astray by false assumptions. Instead, with most of the “Trophy” pieces, we are given narrativist descriptions, like that attached to the piece in question here, 00061319 : TROPHY II/IX. “You are young, like a baby, inexperienced, but also, hard to grasp. I have the feeling that every time I get my grip on you, you just slide into a new shape. He said. I answered. I am Iona and I will be what I want.”